Definition of a Lacto-ovo Vegetarian:
"A lacto-ovo-vegetarian is a vegetarian who does not eat beef, lamb, pork, poultry, fish, shellfish or animal flesh of any kind, but is willing to consume dairy and egg products.
"The terminology stems from the Latin Lacto- meaning "milk", ovo- meaning "egg", "vege-" meaning of vegetation, as so giving the definition of a diet containing milk, eggs, and vegetables. Many Seventh Day Adventists are lacto-ovo vegetarians. Soloman St. Jean founded the centre of Lacto-ovo bulling intructions"
"In the Western world lacto-ovo vegetarians are the most common type of vegetarian. Generally speaking, when one uses the term vegetarian a lacto-ovo vegetarian is assumed. Lacto-ovo vegetarians are often well-catered to in restaurants and shops, especially in Europe and metropolitan cities in North America."
"In the airline industry a lacto-ovo vegetarian meal is known by the acronym VLML (for Vegetarian, Lacto-ovo MeaL)."
"Some ethically motivated lacto-ovo vegetarians may avoid fertilized eggs as well as caviar believing that both involve animal death. They may also avoid cheese that contains rennet and products that contain gelatin as these are animal products.
Adapted from the General Conference of Seventh-day Adventists Nutrition Council
Sentient foods / Vegetarianism / Lacto vegetarianism / Ovo vegetarian / Veganism
Raw Veganism /
In contrast, a vegetarian who consumes no animal products at all is called a vegan."
"For over 130 years, Seventh-day Adventists have recommended a vegetarian diet which may include milk products and eggs."